Czech Republic, Germany and Netherlands to take part in Mexico U23 World Cup 2021 – News – Czech National Teams, News – Dutch Baseball Leagues, News


The World Baseball Softball Confederation announced today the 12 participants and groups of the upcoming III. WBSC U-23 World Baseball Championship, which will take place from September 23rd to October 2nd in the Mexican state of Sonora. The Czech Republic and Germany play in a group with Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Mexico and Taiwan, while the Netherlands take on Colombia, Nicaragua, Panama, South Korea and Venezuela.

The global / continental representation is as follows:
America (7): Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama and Venezuela
Asia (2): Chinese Taipei and Korea
Europe (3): Czech Republic, Germany and the Netherlands

For the first time in over two years, a baseball world championship is being held,“Said WBSC President Riccardo Fraccari. “I congratulate all respective national associations / teams for their strong desire to return to the field and fight for an official world title.

And I would also like to thank Ana Guevara, Director General of the National Commission on Physical Culture and Sport (Comision Nacional de Cultura Fisica y Deporte-CONADE), and Mexican President Andrés Manuel López Obrador, who is also the global WBSC Ambassador, in their continuing Assisting in the safe and successful hosting of world-class events that serve both the growth and the presentation of our global game.”

The teams start the tournament with a group stage (round robin):
Group A Obregon: hosts Mexico, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Cuba, Germany and Taiwan
Group B Hermosillo: Colombia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, South Korea and Venezuela

Ciudad Obregón will host the Group A games and the 7th to 12th round, while the capital, Sonora Hermosillo, will host the Group B and Super Round.

The top three in each group will go to the super round, which will take place from September 29th to October 1st. The final is scheduled for Saturday, October 2nd.

Mexico is the reigning U-23 world champion in baseball and has won the final (2018) edition of the WBSC U-23 World Baseball Championship in Barranquilla, Colombia.

The best young professional players from clubs such as the Australian Baseball League (ABL), the Chinese Professional Baseball League (CPBL), the Korea Baseball Organization (KBO), and Major League Baseball (MLB) participated in previous U-23 World Baseball Championships ) and Mexican Baseball League (LMB), Nicaraguan Professional Baseball League, Nippon Professional Baseball (NPB), and other leagues around the world.

Adapted from a press release from WBSC.

No comments yet.

The comment form is currently closed.


Leave A Reply